Sharon Whitley…

Artist Bio

 

Sharon Whitley is a water colour and pencil artist who has returned to art after a very long break.  Her subjects are varied but she particularly enjoys painting and drawing wildlife and pets.  She accepts commissions for pet portraits and other subjects both in water colour and graphite.  Sharon paints and draws for pleasure but has recently started exhibiting, selling and licensing her artwork after increasingly receiving enquiries  both online and through word of mouth.

 

Artists statement

I enjoy painting a variety of subjects and naturally have a fairly loose style in watercolour although depending on my mood and the subject being painted the amount of detail varies from painting to painting.  Animals are my favourite subject and I always aim to capture an animal’s character.  For this reason I always start painting the eyes first, the soul of the painting – which brings the subject to life for me – if I think I’ve got the eyes right then I’m fairly confident the rest of the painting will come together ok!  I love watching a subject come to life before my eyes, from that blank piece of paper to a finished painting or drawing.  As well as water colour I enjoy drawing with graphite and my style with graphite is generally more detailed than in water colour but I don’t consider them to be photo realistic.   I also enjoy experimenting with pastels, coloured pencils and acrylics.    My other passion is being in the outdoors, particularly the hills and mountains of Snowdonia and the Lake District and I am experimenting more with painting the landscapes that I love.  My artwork can be seen on Sharon’s Art page  www.facebook.com/pages/Sharons-Art/223729341009741

I’ve also recently started a blog called Sharon Whitley  the Rambling  Artist     http://www.sharonwhitleytheramblingartist.blogspot.co.uk

3 responses

  1. This style is more to my liking than contemporary art.

    September 19, 2012 at 8:57 am

    • Hiya George great to hear from you, hope the photography is going well 🙂

      September 20, 2012 at 9:19 am

  2. These are beautiful! I like that,that you start with the eyes first.Not that I know anything about painting,but your reason sounds fascinating.

    September 20, 2012 at 10:35 am

Leave a Reply

