Another great post from Mark Simms

Mark Simms Photography

The War Memorial, which stands at the heart of Port Sunlight village, was commissioned by William Lever(later Lord Leverhulme) to commemorate those of his Sunlight Soap Factory employees who gave their lives during the Great War. It was designed and sculpted by Sir William Goscombe John and took five years to complete from 1916 to 1921.

These shots were actually taken in the Summer of 2011 – and they are just a few of a number of “old” shots that I have been meaning to share on my blog for some time. As I recall, when I took these, I was actually at a joint 60th birthday/40th wedding anniversary bash at a local hotel in Port Sunlight, but I managed to sneak out for half an hour with the camera. I’m glad I did because the late evening light was beautiful, bathing the memorial in a warm summer glow…

View original post 31 more words

Leave a Reply

